Sorkin Named Rookie of the Year, Coan Earns First-Team All-CC

Photos by Matt O'Haren
Photos by Matt O'Haren

(Carlisle, Pa.) – The Dickinson men's tennis team earned four spots on the 2019 All-Centennial Conference Team, announced on Thursday.

First-year Leonid Sorkin (St. Petersburg, Russia/U. of Nebraska H.S.) was named the Rookie of the Year, earning First-team honors in both singles and doubles. Classmate Sam Coan (Washington, D.C./Bullis School) was also a two-time selection, earning First-team honors in singles and doubles.

Sorkin and Coan partnered in the number two doubles flight, posting a 16-4 overall record. They combined to go 16-0 in dual matches and went unbeaten in conference play at 9-0.

Coan went 12-5 in singles in his rookie campaign, posting a 6-2 mark in conference. He went 5-2 in the second flight and had a 7-1 record in the number-three spot.

Sorkin made a great run at the ITA Regionals in the fall, advancing to the semifinals. The #10-seed in the tournament, Sorkin fell to the #6-seed from Carnegie Mellon (6-3, 6-4). He was ranked 18th in singles this spring while the Red Devils moved up to #19 in the Atlantic South poll.

Sorkin went 13-5 in the top singles flight, dropping just one conference match to go 8-1 in the CC.

First-year Justin Pace (Madison, Conn./Daniel Hand) was named to the All-Centennial Conference Sportsmanship Team.

For the women's program, senior Emily Sprague (South Burlington, Vt./South Burlington) was also named to the All-Conference Sportsmanship Team.

The Red Devil men's program had a strong debut season under the leadership of first year head coach Brad Tulenko, posting five straight wins to earn the #4-seed in the conference playoffs. They suffered a 5-3 setback to Franklin & Marshall to close out the season 9-10 overall and 6-3 in the conference.

Johns Hopkins' Naevin Anukornchaikul was a First-team selection as well, marking the first time in conference history that three First-year players were named First-team All-Conference.

Complete 2019 All-Centennial Conference Men's Tennis Team