Steinbock, Red Devil Men Claim Second at Centennial Championships

Steinbock, Red Devil Men Claim Second at Centennial Championships




By Patrick Horan


(Westminster, Md.) - For the fourth year in a row, the Dickinson men's cross-country team finished second at the Centennial Conference Championships. Although, this year it was Johns Hopkins who captured the team title with a score of 34, holding off Dickinson with 39.


The Blue Jays' margin of victory was a mere five points, making this year's contest the closest in Centennial Conference history. Placing a distant third with 61 points was the defending champion, the Fords of Haverford College. In the 21 year history of the Centennial Conference,


Haverford has taken home the team title a total of 18 times, having previously been beaten by Dickinson in 2009 and 2010. Hopkins' victory marks the first team title for the Blue Jays in school history.


Seniors Henry Mynatt (Lake Forest, Ill./Lake Forest) and Ryan Steinbock (Pittsburgh, Pa./Chartiers Valley) placed themselves in contention for the individual laurels right from the gun. Mynatt took over pacing duties from eventual winner, Chris Stadler of Haverford, for the middle portion of the race. Meanwhile Steinbock hung back in the lead pack with Avi Bregman of Haverford and Max Robinson of Johns Hopkins.


These five separated early from the field, and at four miles teammates Stadler and Bregman attempted to break the race open. Stadler held on to win in a time of 25:42, but the move was too much for Bregman, who faded to 6th, falling victim to the finishing kick of Hopkins' Schaffer Ochstein.


With 600 meters to go Mynatt and Steinbock were sitting in fourth and fifth, but as the two seniors rounded the turn for home they had overtaken Bregman and were slowly closing down on Max Robinson. Steinbock was able to run down Robinson in the last 200 meters to lock up second place in a time of 25:58.


Steinbock's silver medal is the fifth straight Centennial runner-up honor to be captured by a Dickinson athlete, having previously been taken home by Nick Karwoski in 2009, Brian Krusell in 2010, Dylan Straughan in 2011 and Andrew Fine in 2012. Mynatt was able to hold off a hard charging Ochstein to place fourth with a time of 26:02 to earn First-team All-Conference honors.


The next four Dickinson harriers earned Second-team All-conference honors, finishing in the top 14 overall. Senior Omar Hyjek (Sewickley, Pa./Quaker Valley) placed eighth in a time of 26:17. He was joined by first-year Joey Steadman (Downingtown, Pa./Downingtown West), junior Mark Weinhoffer (Meyersville, N.J./Oratory Prep), and senior co-captain Greg Clark (Chester Springs, Pa./The Hill School), who placed 12th, 13th and 14th, respectively.


Steadman's effort marks his first appearance in the top five and the first Red Devil first-year to earn All-Conference honors since Mynatt did so in 2010.


The next two devils across the line were seniors Alex Strenta (Hanover, N.H./Hanover) and Robbie Sansevere (Whitehouse Station, N.J./Hunterdon Central). Strenta repeated his 2012 performance with a 16th place showing, while Sansevere improved on his 32nd place showing from 2012 by 15 places, coming in a strong 17th.  


Next up for the Red Devils will be the NCAA Mideast Regional meet hosted by Lehigh University.


  • $entry.alt



  • $entry.alt